May 16, 2013

  • Work Hard, Play Harder

    Since I finished my Business Associations essay Monday afternoon, about 10 minutes before the due time, things have gotten a bit easier academically.  Not easier in other ways though.  All the other things in life were put on hold while I was getting the major school and some clerkship deadlines taken care of.

     

    I went to the baduk club and played a game against [Chairman] (a reference to Mao)– when I’m playing properly, he shouldn’t be able to beat me.  But I was rather upset– during that game, I commited about 5 unforced errors, whereas he made about 2.  By unforced errors, I mean mistakes that you make not because of strategy or reading ahead– I mean something obvious that you should have been normally been able to do.  It’d be getting a free shot in basketball and not being able to shoot– it’s a complete loss of an opportunity that, by all means, shouldn’t even be conceptualised as a bonus, but should rather be framed as a basic prerequisite type duty. 

     

    Anyway, it just goes to show that aside from the fact that most people at the baduk club are getting stronger, I’m getting rusty and weaker.  When I first joined the club a couple of years ago, I wasn’t one of the stronger players– in fact, I was one of the weakest.  I climbed to the top because I would play about a game every two days online, if not in person.  Nowadays, I play aboug a game per week, which is barely enough to keep rust from accumulating.  In contrast, the other members are playing 3-4 games per week.

     

    I guess I should be happy– that means that they’re getting something out of this club!  But few things are as annoying to me as feeling others pulling ahead.

     

    Judo feels the same.  I haven’t been to judo in about 2 weeks, but went to the advanced class again on Tuesday.  I found out that 11 of the whitebelts from the beginners’ class have now been promoted to my ranking as well.  Man, I miss the undergrad days when I had so much free time.  Or college– when I skipped 75% of my classes to go training at Senshido gym with [Terminator].

     

    Anyways.

     

    It was good to go.

     

    Midterms and, worse, finals, always get me into this certain mode.  It’s a lot like being under seige or something.  As soon as I handed in my last essay, it was as if the news had just come over the radio that war was over– the clouds parted and suddenly, I felt exhausted. 

     

    And hungry.

    Turns out that my weight dropped to 65kg because I’d basically been subsisting for the entire weekend on meal replacement shakes and rice crackers.

Comments (3)

  • While I HAVE heard (and seen) from my sister going through law school that this is often the standard, do try to take care of yourself…

  • @nimbusthedragon - Heh, thanks for the reminder!  I’m always telling [CM] the same thing with regards to med school, but it’s hard to believe that there are things in the world that take up so much time that proper eating takes too much time.  Thang god for meal replacement shakes though– otherwise I’d probably be eating twinkies or something.

  • @Jinryu - Honestly, I’d say I was surprised by that, but I saw Meg go through it and I’m not. I think Law School is barbaric, hahaha. And indeed, I’m glad you’re at least supplementing healthily, lol

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *